Writing…Interrupted.

Jane

Jane

Today, I was on a roll. I finally figured out what was wrong with my manuscript and was all excited. My hero had sneaked out on my heroine and flown to Memphis without her to track down someone who had jumped bail–something he would NOT do–and she was ticked. I had to fix them! I was well on my way to getting my story on track when I realized it was lunchtime, and that I’d promised my mother I’d pick up a prescription and some milk for her. So I ate a quick lunch and hauled it to 2 different drugstores, the post office, and then my mom’s house.

I made it home in one piece about an hour later and settled back with my laptop. I started rolling again. Got my h/h on the same page, with the correct warrant and help from Memphis PD, and put them on the same plane. The minute they touched down in Memphis, my story was working. I was thrilled.

Then the phone rang…again. It was my son, who’d just gotten to work at the music store where he’s employed. Guess what? He’d locked the keys in his truck (well, his brother’s truck, which he’s borrowing b/c his A/C is out in his vehicle)…and said keys were on the front seat, in plain view of anyone, in a less than desirable part of town. Wonderful. And guess who had the extra keys to his brother’s truck? Yes…ME, of course, since I was on a roll. Aarrgghh!

Needless to say, I was not a happy camper. I grabbed the extra truck key and jumped in my car. The music store was a fifteen minute drive on a good day. This was not a good day. Several miles down the road, a deluge began, accompanied by lightning and loud cracks of thunder. I hate driving in the rain, and especially behind idiots who think that the second a cloud opens up, it’s time to hit the brakes. I lost count of my near misses as I braved the monsoon to get the keys across town.

Finally, I made it to the store and returned home, my mission accomplished. I settled back with my laptop once again, only to discover a few minutes ago that one of our dogs is missing. <sigh> I’m sure she’ll turn up, but now I have to go look for her. Oh, and did I mention that one of the cats is up a tree?

Talk about distractions…I believe today set a record I don’t want repeated anytime soon. Tomorrow, I’m going to a coffee shop to write. Maybe then, my muse and I can find some peace.

http://www.melanieatkins.com

http://www.myspace.com/melanieatkins

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Writing…Interrupted.

  1. Good luck on tomorrow being a better writing day, Melanie. My day was filled with distractions too. Must be something with the planets and the moon. lol

  2. Life does get in the way, doesn’t it? Turn off your cell when you leave the house, and you might go uninterrupted….for a while.
    Sylvia

  3. It’s my husband that’s the distraction! But I confess.. today it was the 90 massage that made me fairly worthless!

    Good luck with the blog!

  4. But isn’t it nice to know you are the axle that keeps the wheels on the road…okay, that’s a guy metaphor..but it’s true. You are so many things to so many people. Now we just need to get you to NYT author for yourself 🙂

  5. Life happens, doesn’t it. Your blog is great, and best of luck.

  6. Liz L.

    I hate it when life interferes with my muse. Yesterday, my family left after a week. Are you kidding me? Who stays for a week?? I love them dearly but smiled as I dropped them off at the airport. My sister (a widow) said someone asked her what she would say if I asked her to stay longer. Before I could stop myself, I blurted, “That ain’t happening.” Luckily for me, she looked shocked, then cracked up.

    I’ve always wished I was more disciplined when it comes to my writing time, but I’m one of those who needs at least two or three quiet hours to get rolling. Sometimes life doesn’t give you that. I need someone with a whip… or a deadline!!

Leave a Reply

