Ebooks vs. Paper books…It’s a Toss Up

Alfred Hitchcock once said, “This paperback is very interesting, but I find it will never replace a hardcover book — it makes a very poor doorstop.”

Sound familiar? Reminds me off all the people decrying ebooks and vowing they’ll never give up print. Fine. I believe print books will always be around, but I do like the portability and accessibility of ebooks, especially with the advent of the Kindle and the Sony eReader. I don’t own either one, but I’d love to have one–preferably the Kindle. One day, hopefully, I will.

I love the idea that the Kindle is wireless and you can download books anywhere, anytime. And youcan change the size of the font–which is perfect for folks who need large print. Another reason I like them is because I have ebooks out, and I want people to buy them–so there’s method to my madness.

To all ebook detractors, I say: Give ebooks a chance. They’re inexpensive (even if the readers aren’t right now, they pay for themselves quickly b/c the books are much cheaper), easy to use, and they aren’t backlit, so they don’t hurt your eyes. Alfred Hitchcock probably wouldn’t like them…I can’t see using a Kindle as a doorstop. But they are the wave of the future.

Check out all of my ebooks at http://www.cobblestone-press.com. You’ll be glad you did.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Ebooks vs. Paper books…It’s a Toss Up

  1. aduffy

    Hi There!
    Nice blog post. I have a question for you — are your kindle books also in print?
    I’m just curious if some writers/pubishers are publishing with the Kindle in mind.
    Thanks,

    April
    aduffy.wordpress.com

    p.s.-I think Hitchcock was more of a pictures kinda guy, which is good for us.

  2. No, April. The ebooks I have out right now are not in print–at least, not yet. My publisher is just starting to publish via print and is only doing approximately one book per month POD. They’re starting slow so as not to bite off more than they can chew.

  3. It’s really only a matter of time before everyone has one, as with everything else technology. If they can get it to the point where it doesn’t feel like I’m reading off a screen, then I’m all for it. As it is now, I subject my eyes to WAY too much screen time.

Leave a Reply

