Anadiplosis, and other rhetorical devices…

The first weekend in October, I attended the Moonlight and Magnolias Conference, sponsored by the Georgia Romance Writers. It was a fantastic conference, complete with a nice variety of workshops, a fairly large author signing, and the Maggie award ceremony, which included a DJ and dancing. My favorite part of the conference was the workshops put on by Margie Lawson, well known for her “deep editing” techniques. One session, which wasn’t nearly long enough, was called “Empowering Character Emotions”, and the other was “Deep Editing”. She teaches both in an online format, in addition to appearing in person all over the country showing other writers how to edit themselves for a winning manuscript. You can learn more about her and her excellent classes Here.

I’ve always loved studying English, in both high school and college. I even minored in it (should have made it my major, but that’s water under the bridge). And I’m very familiar with rhetorical devices, such as similes, oxymorons, alliteration, and the like. But Margie listed many, many more in her sessions…and that just blew my mind. Why had I never heard of those? I use many of them in my books, but never knew they had a special name. So, I plan to take her online class to learn more. In my opinion, writers should never stop wanting to learn more about their craft. Stop learning, and you might as well give it up.

Write on!

http://www.melanieatkins.com

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Anadiplosis, and other rhetorical devices…

  1. OMG! I’m so glad you’ve been Margie-ized. I took her deep edits as an intensive month-long course and it blew my mind. Changed my writing in so many wonderful ways.

  2. Sounds like a wonderful conference and a course I would enjoy. I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

