I love New Orleans

I was in The Big Easy this past weekend for EPICon, EPIC’s annual conference. For those who don’t know, EPIC stands for the Electronically Published Internet Connection. This was a digital publishing conference, which was no different from any other writing conference, with excellent networking opportunities. We learned about the craft of writing, new ways to promote, and how to create an author buzz. I met a lot of new people, and I also signed books. It was a blast! Congrats to all the EPIC award winners.

New Orleans was fun, too. My oldest son went with me, and we took time on Thursday before I became immersed in the conference to explore the French Quarter and eat some authentic shrimp po-boys at Deanie’s, a restaurant on Iberville Street. I highly recommend it! I’ve never seen so many shrimp on one sandwich. We also ate at the House of Blues and heard jazz at the Howlin’ Wolf once the conference ended. I’m still recuperating from all the excitement!

Conferences not only provide great networking and learning opportunities, but also allow attendees to explore the host city and sample local cuisine. I’m so glad EPICon was close to me this year. The drive down only took a few hours, and the weather was perfect–upper 60s, and not a cloud in the sky for four days straight. I can’t say enough good things about EPICon’s organizers or their choice of location. Kudos to all of them for a fabulous conference!

Please note: My attendance at this event was supported in part by funding by the Mississippi Arts Commission, a state agency, and the National Endowment for the Arts, a Federal Agency.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

