Chosen Target is now available!

I have a new ebook out this month at Desert Breeze Publishing. CHOSEN TARGET is the third book in my New Orleans Detective series, following CHERISHED WITNESS and PRIME SUSPECT. I’m excited about this new release because I fell in love with Cole McAlister while writing PRIME SUSPECT, and I knew he had to have a book of his own. Add a twin brother, terrorists threatening a major southern city, and Jaden Calloway, a woman he’s not sure he can trust, and you have a book that will keep you flipping pages.

Blurb:

Jadan Calloway’s latest night out on the town ends in the death of the man who charmed her off her feet. Now the people who killed Kent are after her, and the only man who can save her is Cole McAlister, the rugged, willful detective who believes she is behind his brother’s death. Together they become wrapped up in a frightening web of terrorism and intrigue–and to survive, they must depend on each other.

Excerpt:

Angry with herself, [Jaden] lifted her frozen margarita and took a healthy sip. She’d finish her drink, head home, lock the doors, and sit with her pistol by her side. No point sitting here watching couples sway on the dance floor. Bangles was known for its great dance music but dancing, like sex, was no good without a partner. And tonight, she had no desire for one.

The band struck up a lousy rendition of her favorite Rolling Stones’ classic, Satisfaction. Jadan laughed sadly at the irony of it as she finished off her drink.

“Trolling for another victim?” The deep southern twang sent a shiver up Jadan’s spine.

She spun to see Commander Cole McAlister staring at her with those mocha eyes. That was what made him different from Kent, she realized. His eyes. They were tawny, just like his brother’s. Yet they turned as dark as melted chocolate when he was angry. Which seemed to be all the time.

The word symmetry also came to mind as she studied him. His face was angular and chiseled, and those furious eyes were perfectly aligned. Not to mention his mouth.

Heat filled her as she remembered Kent’s searing kisses. She averted her gaze.

“Back at the scene of the crime.” Cole’s voice carried a hint of steel. “You’re one tough cookie.”

“I haven’t done anything wrong,” she said. Perspiration glided down her neck. The ancient ZZ Top song blaring from the speakers made her head hurt. Or maybe it throbbed because of the troubled man standing before her. She wiped her brow. “Are you following me?”

“Just wondering what you’re up to.” Cole’s assessing gaze bored a hole through her.

She resisted the urge to flinch. “Someone broke into my apartment last night. I needed a diversion.”

“Looking for a quick lay?”

“No.” She glared at him. “How did you know I was here?”

“It’s my job to know. You’re a suspect in a murder investigation.”

“Detective Montgomery said there’s no evidence linking me to Kent’s death.” Alarm slid through her, and she crossed her arms. “Why are you doing this?”

“Kent was my brother. I won’t quit dogging you until I learn the truth.”

“I’ve told your detectives all I know.”

“All you think you know,” he said. The bartender came up, and Cole ordered a glass of club soda.

She scowled at him when the bartender turned away. “What do you mean by that?”

“I’d like to ask you a few more questions, see if you remember anything new.”

“Do you really think that’s necessary?”

“What do you think?” He gave her a sharp look.

Perhaps it would be for the best. If she could convince him once and for all that she hadn’t caused Kent’s death, maybe he would leave her alone. Okay. She would do it – only not at Bangles.

You can read more about his release here. on the Desert Breeze Publishing website, and about all my books here on my website.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Chosen Target is now available!

  1. You’ve captured the sticky heat that is NO perfectly. Love the beads on the cover, too….so eye-cathing 🙂

  2. Melanie, off to buy this book! Wonderfully drawn characters!

  3. Thanks so much, Donnell! I really like Cole and Jaden. They came alive for me when I wrote this book.

  4. Melanie, all of your books look so intriguing. This series is on my ‘to read’ list.

  5. Melanie, this is a fabulous excerpt! Great writing.

  6. Thank, Edie and Shawna! I appreciate your reading my excerpt. ; )

  7. Great excerpt! Looking forward to reading it!

Leave a Reply

