Writers’ Police Academy

What a blast! I had the best time at this conference in North Carolina this past weekend. Thanks to Lee Lofland, the High Point Library folks, and everyone else involved. What a smashing success!

The classes, from the one about undercover operations, to jail searches, to forensic pathology by the esteemed Jonathan Hayes from NYC, added flavor and grit to what I’ve learned before in two citizens’ police academies and at Forensic University. Add the FATS training, handcuffing, arson investigation, the hostage scenario that played out right in front of us, and all the wonderful people I met and hung out with, and the weekend rocked even more.

I came in 2nd in the Don Knotts Silver Bullet Award Novel contest, too. No, I didn’t win the grand prize, but I did come in second out of sixty entries and I received two full manuscript requests. Wahoo!!

Can’t wait ’til next year. I’m sure the WPA will be better than ever.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

