Guest blogger Liz Lipperman!

Liz Lipperman started writing many years ago, even before she retired from the medical field. Wasting many years thinking she was a romance writer but always having to deal with the pesky villains who kept popping up in all her stories, she finally gave up and decided since she read mysteries and obviously wrote them, why fight it? Two years ago, she signed her first contract with Berkley to write a cozy series called “The Clueless Cook  Mysteries”. Book One, titled LIVER LET DIE, comes out  on October 4th and is about a wannabe sports reporter stuck in a po-dunk town writing personal ads who gets the chance to write the weekly culinary column. The problem is, her expertise in the kitchen is limited to frying bologna and microwaving TV dinners. When a dead body is found under her apartment stairwell with her name and number in the victim’s pocket, she becomes the prime suspect, as well as the main course on the murder menu.

Raised in a small town in Ohio, number eight of nine children, she graduated from nursing school and worked as a registered nurse for many years. When she could no longer ignore the characters talking in her head (No, she’s not on medication), she went back to school and got a professional arts degree. Then she started her first novel.

She lives north of Dallas with her HS sweetheart hubby. When she’s not writing she spends her time doting on her four wonderful grandchildren. The first book of her Clueless Cook Mystery Series, LIVER LET DIE, debuted last week.

Now… on to Liz’s blog post! Welcome, Liz! I beta read her book MORTAL DECEPTION before she published it online, and let me tell you… I loved it. It made me laugh, cry, and squee. And few things make me squee. So I can’t wait to dig into LIVER LET DIE. I opened the book today at the gym, but only got through the acknowledgements before my time was up on the elliptical machine. So… let’s hear from Liz!

First off, I want to thank Melanie for inviting me to blog with her today. Melanie and I have been cyber friends for a lot of years, finally meeting at RWA several years ago. I love her sense of humor, so when she posted on my blog last week with a funny story about FIND and REPLACE, I thought I would reciprocate with a few equally funny stories about autocorrect.

For a not-so-good typist like me, Autocorrect can be your best friend or the devil. I learned how to use autocorrect a while back when someone sent me a link to a blog where an author talked about it. At the time, I thought it was one of those things that involved macros or some other gadget on Word that only confused the heck out of me. So, I didn’t bother reading it. Fortunately, I was smart enough to put it in a file I called “Writing”. Sometimes, I’m so clever, I scare myself.

And then later, I was cleaning out that file and decided to read what the guy had to say.

Holy cow! The man could have been talking directly to me.

Anyone who knows me knows I write longhand and then type each chapter on the computer. I have to do this right away because on a good day, I’m writing so fast I can’t read my own writing. I’ve already admitted that my typing skills are lacking. No, it’s worse than that. I seriously suck at it, and I transpose a lot of letters in words. Grr… how irritating is that when almost every word I type needs correcting?

It might be a good time to tell you about once in my younger days when the hospitals had a freeze on nursing positions, and I went looking for a job in medical records. (I know. How old am I that nurses had to look for other jobs???) And did I mention I have to be looking at my fingers when I type? Anyway, I was told there was a five minute typing test, so when the lady handed me the page to type, I quickly memorized what I thought was enough for five minutes worth. Turns out the test was 20 minutes. Needless to say, I stayed unemployed.

BREAKING NEWS: Autocorrect saved my life!!
Now every time I type form, it automatically changes it to from, freinds become friends, ot changes to to, fo –to of.

I am in typing heaven. Of course I had to go in and make frm change to form for those times when I actually wanted that stupid word.

Another trick is that my heroine’s last name is McAllister. Now all I type is Mc and Voila! McAllister is typed.

Isn’t that just about the coolest thing you’ve ever heard of? To set it up, open a Word document and go to Tools. Click on AutoCorrect Options and just type in the misspelled word under Replace and the real word under With.

It even acts like a little editor for me. I like the word really …a lot. So I have programmed it to type – No, No, Liz– when I type really. Relly changes to the real word really when I just have to use it. Don’t even get me started on just. That comes out – Take me out– when I try to get away with using it.
Does this just really knock your socks off?

Come on, tell me all about words you frequently use or misspell, or just tell me what a genius I am for discovering this little trick.

A friend of mine just shared this wonderful story on another loop. She was making a trip to Alaska to stay with her brother and sister in law for a few days. My friend makes pottery and her SIL wanted her to bring a certain coffee cup. This is what her text said. “I’ll lay you well when you get here.” Turns out the SIL had company at her house and my friend ended up sleeping with her!!

Here’s a few hysterical funnies about autocorrect on smart phones. http://damnyouautocorrect.com/

Oh, I forgot to plug my debut release. LIVER LET DIE, the first of my Clueless Cook mysteries from Berkley Prime Crime is about Jordan McAllister, a wannabe sports writer who ends up in a small town writing personals. When the culinary reporter has to go to  rehab, Jordan is offered the temporary position, She jumps on it, seeing it as one step closer to her dream job, despite the fact she lives on fried bologna sandwiches and Hostess Ho Hos and can’t cook her way out of a box of macaroni and cheese.  On her first assignment reviewing a steakhouse reopening in town, she inadvertently orders foie gras (fatty duck liver) which ends up uneaten in a borrowed purse. Later when her waiter from the restaurant ends up dead outside her apartment with her name and number in his pocket, Jordan becomes the number one suspect as well as the main course on the murder menu.

I have one copy of LIVER LET DIE to give away, thanks to Berkley. To enter, leave a comment with a valid email address. This is open to US addresses only (publisher’s request.) Contest ends at midnight October 11th, so get those comments rolling.

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “Guest blogger Liz Lipperman!

  1. So glad I stopped by 🙂 Thanks for the laugh and the autocorrect advice. Yay! And you stayed unemployed because you were meant to write your wonderful stories. Waving to Melanie with thanks, and great work, Liz!

  2. Very fun post. I sometimes type ZZZ in red when I don’t know the exact word. Hopefully by the time I get back to it, all the cylinders in my brain will be fired up and the word that’s almost on the tip of my tongue will pop out.

  3. So glad you guys visited today. Liz is such a hoot!

  4. LOL, Donnell. Some things are just meant NOT to happen. thanks for stopping by. I know how busy you are promoting your own debut, THE PAST CAME HUNTING.

  5. Great idea, Edie.. I’ll give that a try. thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  6. Thanks, Melanie, for having me today and for doing an excellent job editing MORTAL DECEPTION which should go live this week. Sheesh! Who knew it would be so complicated??

  7. Liz, I’m looking forward to reading LIVER LET DIE! Meanwhile, your story about nursing and typos is a hoot and a half, and I was amazed to read that you do all your writing by long-hand. Congratulations on the release of LIVER LET DIE – it sounds like a delectable read!

    -Kathleen

  8. So funny! I learned about Autocorrect when I was typing my dissertation. I had to use the word “Chancellor” A LOT, so I added that to autocorrect. Any time I typed “Cha”, it became Chancellor. Great idea to use with names when you’re working on a book. BUT you might want to take that name out of autocorrect when you get done with the book so you might find your character’s name everywhere!

  9. Stephanie Colin

    Sounds like a great mystery – can’t wait to read it!! Good Luck on the release and keep ’em coming!!

  10. Liz, I opened LLD on my Nook today, but didn’t get past the acknowledgements before I had to quit. Tomorrow, though, I’m starting with chapter one. Can’t wait!

    • The acknowledgement page is long. Did y’all notice
      GIAM got mentioned??? Hops you enjoy it, Mel.

      I got a really good review from Fresh Fiction, and the reviewer recommended it for both teens and adults. Wow! That floored me since a lot of my characters are oldies but goodies.

  11. You crack me up! I also look at the keys when I type. My auto correct hopped into my word program with my calling it. I don’t “use” it though. I just need to check on any glitches it sends my way.

    This book is on my list! I moved it to the top.

  12. Hi Ladies, aren’t you all having fun! I’m looking forward to reading this book. My TBR is starting this major slide it’s stacked so high with such great books released this year.

    Go Liz!

  13. I tweeted about it…and thanks for the autocorrect feature. I need to put my stupid compound words in there…one of my major writing problems!

  14. Liz, You are brilliant! And I an’t wait to read Liver Let Die!!

Leave a Reply

