The Serial Killer Next Door

ReflectionsFinal2I’d like to welcome guest blogger Cindy Carroll to my blog today. Cindy is a member of Sisters in Crime and a graduate of Hal Croasmun’s screenwriting ProSeries. Her interviews with writers of CSI and Flashpoint appeared in The Rewrit, the Scriptscene newsletter, the screenwriting Chapter of RWA. She writes screenplays, thrillers, and paranormals, occasionally exploring an erotic twist. A background in banking and IT doesn’t allow much in the way of excitement so she turns to writing stories that are a little dark and usually have a dead body. She lives in Ontario, Canada with her fiancé and three cats. When she’s not writing you can usually find her painting landscapes in oil or trying space paintings with spray paint.

Thank you so much, Melanie, for letting me be here today!

When I lived in Etobicoke, back when it was still called that and not part of the GTA (Greater Toronto Area) I knew almost all of my neighbours. We’d lived there for over twenty years. I played with the kids. Parents would talk to each other. Some would even come over for dinner. If someone had asked if any of the neighbours could hurt anyone I would have said emphatically, no.

But though I knew them, did I really know them? You hear stories all the time about serial killers and their neighbours. “He was such a nice man,” the neighbours would say. I don’t think I’ve heard anyone yet say “Oh, yeah, I knew the moment I saw him that he was a serial killer.” Killers don’t “look” like killers. What does a killer look like anyway? Ted Bundy was a handsome young man. A lawyer. Would anyone have suspected him of being a serial killer?

So how well do you really know someone? Can you really know them? Do you know for sure that your neighbours aren’t hiding something dark and dangerous? People let you see only what they want you to see. This fascinated me so I wrote a story about a curse that replaces people with that part of themselves that they never let out.

Reflections blurb:

When a cursed inn replaces her friends with evil reflections a woman fights to get the genuine articles back before the doubles kill her.

A road trip goes wrong for a group of friends trying to help one of them get over a break up. They find an inn where the mirrors are cursed. They realize they don’t know each other as well as they thought they did.

Buy on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1avH00L
Buy on Kobo: http://bit.ly/13CBz9M

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Serial Killer Next Door

  1. Thanks so much for having me here, Melanie!

  2. A must read, I can tell! Wow, Cindy!

Leave a comment